About Us

Comedy, Entertainment & Football Women of the Year

August 23, 2016
Comedy, Entertainment & Football Women of the Year

Easily the most entertaining and best value for money Grand Final Week event is the Grand Final Comedy Debate - Comedy, Entertainment & Football Women of the Year in a fun and action packed Grand Final week event.

Grand Final Week is one of the most exciting weeks of social activity in Melbourne - the buzz of football leading into the ultimate day on footy's biggest stage combined with the smell of spring in the air, sunshine and cut grass,...it doesn't get any better.

There are a lot of mid week functions and experiences leading into the big day, with many people travelling from interstate to soak up the festivities. It is a great time to be out and about in Melbourne!

One of the best events in Grand Final week is the Grand Final Comedy Debate at Crown Palladium on Thursday 29th September. There is a great buzz of social interaction in the lobby with activations from key partners. As you enter the room you are greeted with a huge LED display showing videos and very elegantly placed tables.

Immediate joy and inquisitive instincts take over as you see your own gift bag with some amazing gifts from event sponsors to take home. I am not kidding when I say this is worth the ticket price alone - last year gifts included your own luggage bag, bottle of wine, cosmetic products, food & beverage gifts and more.

Next, a host of comedic acts discussing the football industry with hilarious conviction. A genuine debate of all things AFL Football, the Australian way of life and men v women makes this an event of no parallel.

A genuine focus on The Football Woman of the Year Award generates a different perspective, recognising the substantial and growing contribution of women to the game from grass roots to elite levels. The award recognises women in the industry who have made a significant contribution to the game of Australian Rules Football. Presented by the Essendon Women’s Network (EWN), this prestigious award is open to any woman involved in football regardless of club or profession.

Past winners of the award include; Irene Chatfield (1998), Jill Lindsay (1999), Caroline Wilson (2000), Katrina Pressley (2001), Beverly Knight (2002 – joint winner), Bev O’Connor (2002 – joint winner), Jenny Williams (2003), Edna Daniher (2004), Jennie Loughnan (2005), Barb Cullen (2006), Terry Bracks (2007), Susan Alberti (2008), Debbie Lee (2009), Anna Durante (2010), Lesley McGrath (2011), Belinda Duarte (2012), Michelle Cowan (2013), Peta Searle (2014) and Jan Cooper in 2015.

If you are looking for Grand Final week entertainment for your clients, staff or to enjoy with family and friends, this outstanding event is one not to be missed.

Read our Email and Privacy Policy